Download file after 3sec…

About JEE


The Indian Institutes of Technology Joint Entrance Examination (IIT-JEE or JEE) is an annual engineering entrance examination in India. The examination is organized each year by one of the IITs. The JEE was conducted for the first time in 1960. The JEE was initially called as the Common Entrance Exam (CEE). The CEE coincides with the IIT Act of 1961, to later name as JEE.

A proposal for replacing IIT-JEE with a common engineering entrance examination was made in 2010 and but due to many IIT's not accepting the proposal, it was refused. Joint Admission Board (JAB) of IIT JEE (Advanced)-2013 met on 27 August 2012 at IIT Delhi to adopt new admission policy.

New Admission Norms for IITs

The admission to the undergraduate programmes at the 16 IITs and ISM, Dhanbad from the year 2013 onwards will be based on a two-tier test called as JEE Main and JEE Advanced. In addition, there will be a weight-age to the class XII performance. To get admission in IITs and ISM, a student would need to:

  1. Be in the top 20 percentile (top 20% scorers) in their respective boards [40% weight-age], and
  2. Qualify JEE Advance Exam [60% weight-age].
JEE Advance

JEE Advance will be jointly conducted by Zonal IITs (IIT-Bombay, IIT-Delhi, IIT-Guwahati, IIT-Kanpur, IIT-Kharagpur, IIT-Madras and IIT-Roorkee) in the month of June.

Only 1, 50,000 of the top rankers in JEE (Main), which includes students from all categories (GE, OBC (NCL), SC and ST) will be eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced).

Students seeking admission to the NITs will not have to sit for the JEE Advanced test.

The following procedure will be used for selecting the 1, 50,000 candidates who will be eligible to appear for JEE (Advanced) based on their performance in JEE (Main) exams:

  1. 50.5% of the 1, 50,000 (75,750 candidates) will be taken from the top rankers of the Common Merit List (CML) of JEE (Main).
  2. 27% (40,500), 15% (22,500) and 7.5% (11,250) candidates will be taken from the top rankers of the category rank lists of OBC-NCL, SC and ST, respectively.
  3. 3% of the candidates selected within each category will be those belonging to PwD (Persons with Disability) sub-category, who figure in the respective rank lists of JEE (Main).

The JEE (Advanced)-2013 will have two objective type papers. Each paper will consist of Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. Duration of each paper will be 3-hours. Question papers will be in both English and Hindi.

JEE (Advanced)-2014: The new pattern proposed for JEE (Advanced) by IIT-Bombay for admissions to IITs in 2014 will not have multiple choice questions; it will be subjective but students will not have to write long answers in the proposed pattern.

JEE Main

A common engineering entrance examination was first proposed by the Ministry of Human Resource Development in February 2010.

One of the names proposed was Indian Science Engineering Eligibility Test (ISEET). It was meant as a replacement for the multitude of existing exams, but most specifically the Indian Institute of Technology Joint Entrance Examination (IIT-JEE) and the All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE).

Admission to Undergraduate Engineering Programs at NITs, IIITs, Other centrally funded Technical Institutions, Institutions funded by several participating State Governments, and several other Institutions shall involve the Joint Entrance Examination, JEE (Main).

The JEE (Main) will also be an eligibility test for the JEE (Advanced), which the candidate has to take if he/she is aspiring for admission to the undergraduate programmes offered by the IITs.

JEE (Main) will be conducted by CBSE in the month of April.

IIT JEE Eligibility

The minimum academic qualification for admission through IIT JEE is 10+2 (class XII). Candidates appearing for their final examinations of 10+2 are also eligible to apply. The candidate can appear for this test only twice and that too in consecutive years; once in the final year of 12th and then in the next year. Candidate’s eligibility also depends on his/her score in 10+2 (class XII). A minimum score of 60% is mandatory.